The cooperation project “Railway kids“ was founded by the Indian Paul C Matthew and Australian Bev Spencer Paul in 2010. The basic idea was to show new perspective to children, who live in or nearby the railway station. Most of the children are either abandoned by their families or they live with their families at railway station. Because of which social problems such as lack of education, poverty and crime (for example stealing) occurs. As a family care project, Paul C takes care of few girls and boys in his own family, who no longer live on the streets today thanks to his support because of which there is a possibility of providing education and security to them. Due to the large number of children in need, the railway kids project was outsourced to “Lifehouse” near Agra Cantt Station and is now primarily trying to include the children’s environment (family, friends) in the relief. The main objective is to change or at least improve the situation of families in order to support the children in their family’s system and to give them a better future. In addition to the individual promotion of children, the project tries to support the families in everyday activities such as searching house and to support their medical care.

Paul C supervises all the activities in the “Lifehouse”. He is supported by Dina and James, who lives with their two children in the building of the “Lifehouse”. James is the only person who speaks and understand English fluently, he also teaches children English. His wife Dina is responsible for the small children and looks after the projects “Early Intervention Centre” and “Marian Pre-School”. There are also two other teachers working in the “Lifehouse”.

The project is divided into several areas:

  1. The Youth Dropping Center (YDC) project tries to work with young people as part of providing them skill training, for example to show different perspectives of jobs and to train them to get those jobs.
  2. The Child Dropping Center (CDC) project is one of the main project of the “Lifehouse”. It offers five days a week a contact point for street children from the area, which have different difficulties. These children should be preserved from the bad influence of their environment through a wide educational and schooling opportunities, these children are intensively supported and also have access to laundry facilities, as well as provided hot meal. The daily routine is strictly timed and the children are handled in a disciplined manner with mutual respect.
  3. The Early Intervention Center (EIC) project also takes place in the “Lifehouse” and addresses the target group of 2 ½ -5 year old children. The children receives books and food is financed by the project along with the early pedagogical support.
  4. The project Marian Pre-School belongs to the EIC project and caters to those children who are affected by only a few problems and therefore they return to their families at lunchtime. The project is aimed primarily at providing a school education for the younger children.
  5. The project Community Development Center (CDC) wants to intervene especially in the whole environment. Currently, the offer is directed only to women in adult age. So far,  tailoring training and literacy courses has taken place. Other courses such as cosmetics, fashion design and mehndi (henna) are currently in the planning stage.

Das Kooperationsprojekt railway kids wurde 2010 von dem Inder Paul C Matthew und der Australierin Bev Spencer gegründet. Die Grundidee lag darin, Kindern, die im oder am Bahnhof lebten, neue Perspektiven aufzuzeigen. Viele der Kinder sind von zu Hause abgehauen oder lebten mit ihren Familien am Bahnhof. Dazu kommen gesellschaftliche Probleme wie fehlende Schulbildung, Armut und Kriminalität wie bspw. Stehlen. Paul C nahm als family care project einige Mädchen und Jungen in seiner eigenen Familie auf, welche Dank seiner Unterstützung und der dadurch ermöglichten Ausbildung bzw. Absicherung heute nicht mehr auf der Straße leben. Aufgrund der großen Anzahl der bedürftigen Kinder wurde das Projekt railway kids in das nahe dem Agra Cantt Bahnhofs gelegenen Lifehouse ausgelagert und versucht nun vorwiegend, das Umfeld der Kinder (Familie, Freunde) in die Hilfe miteinzubeziehen. Das Hauptziel liegt darin, die Lage der Familien zu ändern oder zumindest zu verbessern, um so die Kinder im System ihrer Familie zu fördern und ihnen eine bessere Zukunft zu ermöglichen. Neben der individuellen Förderung der Kinder versucht das Projekt die Familie in alltäglichen Dingen z.B. Haussuche, medizinische Versorgung zu unterstützen.

Im Lifehouse tätig ist vor allem Paul C. Unterstützt wird er von Dina und James, welche mit ihren beiden Kindern im Gebäude des Lifehouses wohnen. James unterrichtet die Kinder in Englisch und ist auch der einzige Lehrer, der fließend englisch spricht und versteht. Seine Frau Dina ist für die kleinen Kinder zuständig und betreut die Projekte early intervention center und marian pre-school. Außerdem sind zwei weitere Lehrer im Lifehouse tätig.

Das Projekt gliedert sich in mehrere Bereiche auf:

  1. Das Projekt Youth Dropping Center (YDC) versucht mit Jugendlichen im Rahmen eines skill trainings z.B. Perspektiven aufzuzeigen und ihnen Jobs zu vermitteln.
  2. Das Projekt Child Dropping Center (CDC) ist das Hauptprojekt und findet im Lifehouse statt. Es bietet fünf Tage die Woche eine Anlaufstelle für Straßenkinder aus der Umgebung an, welche verschiedene Schwierigkeiten haben oder welche vor schlechtem Einfluss ihrer Umgebung bewahrt werden sollen. Durch ein breites pädagogisches und schulisches Angebot werden diese Kinder intensiv gefördert und haben zudem Zugang zu Waschmöglichkeiten, sowie zu einer warmen Mahlzeit. Der Tagesablauf ist strikt getaktet und der Umgang mit den Kindern streng, aber durch gegenseitigen Respekt geprägt.
  3. Das Projekt Early Intervention Center (EIC) findet ebenfalls im Lifehouse statt und richtet sich an die Zielgruppe der 2 ½ -5-jährigen Kinder. Die Kinder erhalten durch das Projekt finanzierte Bücher und Essen, sowie pädagogische Frühförderung.
  4. Das Projekt Marian Pre-School gehört zu dem EIC Projekt und richtet sein Angebot an diejenigen Kinder, welche von nur von wenigen Problemen betroffen sind und daher mittags zurück in ihre Familien kehren. Das Projekt zielt vor allem auf eine schulische Vorbildung für die jüngeren Kinder ab.
  5. Das Projekt Community Development Center (CDC) möchte besonders in das ganze Umfeld eingreifen. Momentan richtet sich das Angebot nur an Frauen im Erwachsenenalte. Bisher besteht eine Schulung zur Schneiderin und Kurse zur Alphabetisierung. Weitere Kurse im Bereich Kosmetik, Modedesign und Mehndi (Henna) sind derzeit in Planung.